And the Celebrating Excellence Awards winners are… 

12/07/2019 00:00 
Staff from across UCLH were congratulated for their hard work at the annual Celebrating Excellence Awards.

Winners were announced at the elegant ceremony, held at The Royal Lancaster London Hotel, across the 17 categories, including excellence in education, junior doctor or dentist of the year and top quality patient care.

This included the patient-nominated living the values award, which was won by consultant Mustansir Alibhai.

TV and radio presenter Adrian Chiles, who hosted the event, said: “Your pride in your organisation is amazing.

“It’s great to come and pay tribute to you all. From the porters to the profs, it’s a great honour to be here.”

He was invited to the ceremony after writing a piece in the Guardian about the positive experience his friend was having undergoing radiotherapy at UCLH.

Marcel Levi, chief executive, said: “It’s fantastic to be able to celebrate the achievements, hard work and dedication of so many of our brilliant staff. It was an honour to be at the event and I am proud of every single one of you.”

Ben Morrin, workforce director, said: “Thursday night’s dinner was our biggest ever with more than 510 colleagues coming together.

“Our latest pledge is to involve even more staff in celebrating the achievements everyone contributes across UCLH and so I am delighted we’ll be holding more such events this winter and into next year too.

“We owe sincere thanks to the UCLH Charity for funding the awards and the Staff Experience Team for organising the ceremony so well.”

The winners are:

  • The Matron Team at Queen Square - safety
  • David Chal, general manager, emergency division - kindness
  • Radiotherapy play team - teamwork
  • Henry Wilson - improving
  • Linda Huggins, clinical practice facilitator/nurse educator - nurse or midwife leader of the year award
  • Facial pain MDT team at Eastman Dental Hospital - top quality patient care award
  • Alexa Coombes, clinical systems designer, electronic health record system - EHRS Champion of the Year
  • REGAIN team - contribution to world–class research
  • Sheila Saunders - volunteer of the year
  • Manisha Bhogal, staff experience team - apprentice of the year
  • Mustansir Alibhai, consultant in the Surgical Specialities Division - patient-nominated Living the Values
  • Daminee Seetannah, sepsis improvement nurse - excellence in education
  • Charlotte Betteridge, occupational therapist team lead - allied health professional and pharmacy colleague of the year
  • Jonathan Coppel, anaesthetics specialty registrar, emergency division - junior doctor or dentist of the year
  • Shirine Yasse, events and education centre manager - outstanding admin and support contribution award
  • Natasha Phillips, chief nursing informatics officer - chief executive's leadership award
  • Donald Peebles, Anna David and fetal surgery team - the chair's achievement award

With thanks to UCLH Charity for funding the event.

 Latest news

 Contact details

Communications unit
2nd floor central
250 Euston Road
London NW1 2PG

Media enquiries

Switchboard: 020 3456 7890
Media enquiries: 020 3447 7542 / 020 3447 9506

Out of hours
The normal working hours for the Communications Unit are Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. The only media enquiries that will be answered outside of these working hours are urgent enquiries and those relating to major incidents. To access the out-of-hours service call switchboard on 0845 155 5000.

Share this story