A celebration of excellence at UCLH 

20/03/2017 00:00 
Staff from across UCLH were honoured for their wonderful work at the Celebrating Excellence Awards on Thursday night.

The winners of the 16 awards embody the Trust’s values of kindness, safety, improving and teamwork.

Host Sian Williams praised UCLH for the “most wonderful care” she received after being diagnosed with breast cancer in 2014.

Sian, who presented BBC Breakfast for more than a decade and now anchors Channel 5 News, told a packed hall: “If I had a couple of awards to give out personally, I would give an award to everyone in this room and to everyone who works at UCLH, I really, really would.

“Go back to work and thank everyone you work with because you really are extraordinary.

“I’ve never been able to say thank you to everybody who looked after me, so this is me doing it tonight and on behalf of all patients.

More than 800 nominations were made for the awards, which were funded by UCLH Charity.

Chairman, Richard Murley, said: “I owe my sincere thanks on behalf of all UCLH staff to the UCLH Charity for funding the awards and our ceremony.

“We recognise the great work of all our finalists with pride.”

UCLH’s chief executive, Marcel Levi, paid tribute to the “very special wards, departments and teams which deliver world-class patient care, dedicated teaching and training and outstanding research”.

Ben Morrin, director of workforce and one of the judges, said: “UCLH is full of people who work very hard and strive to be the best they can be. 

"Thanks to our charity it’s great to have a chance to reflect on all that they have achieved over the last year.”

And the winners are...

Values Awards
- Dr Steve Harris, consultant, Critical Care
Kindness - Kate Lowe, senior staff nurse, Paediatrics and Adolescents
Teamwork - T8 ward, Infection
Improving - The Complex Pain Team, Queen Square

Patient-nominated Living the Values Award - Dr Melissa Whitten, consultant, Women’s Health
Top Quality Patient Care: Gwyneth Griffiths Award - Multidisciplinary Radical Cystectomy Team, Surgical Specialties
Chairman's Medal for Excellence in Education and Training - Michelle Castelo, clinical practice facilitator, Chief Nurse Division
Contribution to World-Class Research Award - The Cancer Immunotherapy Research Group, Cancer Services
Going the Extra Mile - Volunteer Award - Martin Valls Garcia, Haematology
Outstanding Corporate Contribution Award - Susan Ellis, administrator, Royal National Throat Nose and Ear Hospital
Junior Doctor of the Year Award: Nikki Tanna, specialty registrar, Eastman Dental Hospital
International Award: Maria Jose Pereira Bello, staff nurse, Queen Square
Allied Health Professional and Pharmacy Colleague of the Year: Alice Nicholson, specialist occupational therapist, Clinical Support
Nurse or Midwife Leader of the Year - Trudy Stewart, charge nurse, Queen Square
Chief Executive’s Outstanding Leadership Award - Jillian Hartin, senior nurse
Chairman’s Achievement Award - Tonia Ramsden, director of corporate services






 Latest news

 Contact details

Communications unit
2nd floor central
250 Euston Road
London NW1 2PG

Media enquiries

Switchboard: 020 3456 7890
Media enquiries: 020 3447 7542 / 020 3447 9506
Email: uclh.media@nhs.net

Out of hours
The normal working hours for the Communications Unit are Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. The only media enquiries that will be answered outside of these working hours are urgent enquiries and those relating to major incidents. To access the out-of-hours service call switchboard on 0845 155 5000.

Share this story