Chairman's awards for top of the class! 

21/07/2011 00:00 

Staff who have made an exceptional contribution to education and training across the Trust were recognised by chairman Richard Murley in his annual prize giving ceremony.


The chairman’s award and medals reward those who have made a real difference by passing on their skills to future generations of healthcare workers.
There were five winners of the Chairman’s Medal for Education and Training, a team award and a special award.

There was one winner of the Chairman’s Award for Innovation and Education in Training who received a certificate and £3,000 to support his work.

The awards were presented this month during an Oscar-style ceremony.

Richard praised the ‘incredible’ work of all the winners and nominees and their efforts to help the Trust achieve its vision to deliver ‘top quality patient care, excellent education and world class research’.

He thanked Dr Jean McEwan, Director of Undergraduate Medical Education, for putting the event together and added: “There is a huge wealth of knowledge in this Trust and it is incumbent on all of us to think about what we can do to pass it on to the next generation.”

The winner of the Chairman’s Award for Innovation in Education and Training was Dr Gavin Johnson, lead for education in the GI Division.  He will use the £3,000 to develop an Endoscopy Imaging Archive.
Winners of the Chairman’s Medal for Education and Training were: Dr Yogi Amin, consultant anaesthetist at the NHNN; Ulpee Darbar, consultant in restorative dentistry at the Eastman Dental Hospital; Annette Jeanes, director of infection prevention and control; Vicki Leah, nurse consultant for older people and Dr Laura-Jane Smith, a senior house officer in core medical training.
The team award went to Sharon Fillingham, Sue Fell and Jo Parker, clinical nurse specialists for urinary diversion.
The Education Centre’s IT and audiovisual team, made up of Chandresh Patel and Rakesh Vaghela, won a special award.
The other nominees, who represent the wide range of training and teaching doing on in the Trust included: Manolis Gavalas, A&E consultant who runs a highly regarded undergraduate programme for the senior medical students; Anil Avasthi, A& E consultant and lead for the induction of training foundation year 2 doctors; Karla Olorenshaw, Jennifer Spears, Viv Jones  and Carmel Fitzsimons (the Cancer CPF team) and  Vikki Riley, Teenage Oncology Nurse Consultant.


 Latest news

 Contact details

Communications unit
2nd floor central
250 Euston Road
London NW1 2PG

Media enquiries

Switchboard: 020 3456 7890
Media enquiries: 020 3447 7542 / 020 3447 9506

Out of hours
The normal working hours for the Communications Unit are Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. The only media enquiries that will be answered outside of these working hours are urgent enquiries and those relating to major incidents. To access the out-of-hours service call switchboard on 0845 155 5000.

Share this story