Non-executive directors appointed 

28/12/2011 00:00 

UCLH is pleased to announce the appointment of two new non-executive directors. Dr Diana Walford CBE and Dr Harry Bush CB will bring a wealth of expertise to the role in helping the Trust achieve its goals in the coming year and beyond.

Dr Diana Walford CBE and Dr Harry Bush CB

Dr Walford, the recipient of a CBE for services to public health, has a distinguished record at the highest levels in the civil service, NHS health care and higher education.

During her career, she has served the NHS as Deputy Chief Medical Officer for England, Director of Healthcare for the NHS Management Executive, Director of the Public Health Laboratory Service, and non-executive Director of the NHS Blood and Transplant Authority. She is also a medically qualified haematologist and epidemiologist and was an Honorary Consultant Haematologist to the Central Middlesex Hospital. Most recently, she was the Principal of Mansfield College, Oxford University.

Dr Walford said: “I am delighted to have been appointed to serve on the Board of such a high-performing Trust. It is a particular pleasure to be joining the Trust when it has just been named, by the Dr Foster Hospital Guide, the top NHS hospital Trust in London.
“I aim to bring my many years’ experience of working in healthcare and in public health to helping the Trust sustain this pre-eminent position.”

Dr Harry Bush CB has extensive senior management experience at HM Treasury and in the economic regulation of the aviation industry. He was most recently a member of the Civil Aviation Authority Board with executive responsibility for the Authority’s economic output. Prior to that, Dr Bush held a number of senior posts at HM Treasury during a long career there.

Dr Bush said: ”I am looking forward to contributing to the Trust’s work during what is going to be a challenging period for the Health Service and for the Trust, and helping to maintain the excellent reputation that it has.”

He replaces Sir Nicholas Monck who comes to the end of his term as Vice Chair in February. Sir Nicholas joined the Trust in February 2005 following a distinguished career as a senior civil servant.

There are seven non-executive directors on the Trust Board, including Trust Chairman Richard Murley.


 Latest news

 Contact details

Communications unit
2nd floor central
250 Euston Road
London NW1 2PG

Media enquiries

Switchboard: 020 3456 7890
Media enquiries: 020 3447 7542 / 020 3447 9506

Out of hours
The normal working hours for the Communications Unit are Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. The only media enquiries that will be answered outside of these working hours are urgent enquiries and those relating to major incidents. To access the out-of-hours service call switchboard on 0845 155 5000.

Share this story