Paloma’s faith in UCLH 

29/03/2018 00:00 
The inspirational work of staff from across UCLH has been recognised at our Celebrating Excellence Awards.

From “exceptional human beings” to “shining examples” of adaptation, the award winners embody UCLH’s values of kindness, safety, improving and teamwork.

Host Paloma Faith praised the “amazing care” she received while having her first child at University Hospital and presented deputy neonatal sister Wendy Hill with an “exceptional human being award”.

Paloma, who invited some of those who treated her to sit at her table, described Wendy as a “beaming light of capability and upbeat positivity”.

The BRIT award-winning singer added: “When you have had your first baby…and someone seems to know exactly what to say and how to say it, it’s the best thing in the world.”

More than 1,000 nominations were made for the 16 awards, which were funded by UCLH Charity.

Winners include Intensive Care matron Elaine Thorpe who received the Chairman’s Achievement Award from UCLH chairman Lord Prior.

Elaine, who is celebrating her 21st year at UCLH, said: “I would like to thank my second family - Critical Care. They make my job really special.

“You don’t have to look very hard to see something amazing.”

Marcel Levi, UCLH's chief executive, described the awards as a “standout moment” of the year, adding, “we recognise the great work of all our finalists with pride”.


And the winners are…

Safety Award:  Betsey Lau-Robinson (Head of Safeguarding Adults)

Kindness Award: Carlton Thomas (Therapy assistant)

Teamwork Award: Emergency Department nursing team

Improving Award: Royal National Throat, Nose and Ear Hospital pre-assessment team

Patient-nominated Living the Values Award: Deborah Hodes (Consultant paediatrician)

Top-quality Patient Care: Gwyneth Griffiths Award: Sally Thorpe (Clinical nurse specialist, Gastrointestinal Services)

Chairman’s Medal for Excellence in Education and Training: Daron Smith (Consultant urological surgeon)

Contribution to World-class Research Award: David Brealey (Intensive care consultant)

Going the Extra Mile - Volunteer Award: Amanda Tata

Outstanding Corporate Contribution Award Ernest Sarfo (Telecoms engineer)

Junior Doctor/Dentist of the Year Award Raj Shah (Junior doctor, Anaesthetics)

International Award Adan Hussein (Domestic)

Allied Health Professional and Pharmacy Colleague of the Year Karen Conroy (Cancer Centre dispensary manager)

Nurse or Midwife Leader of the Year Debra Kroll (Senior midwife)

Chief Executive’s Outstanding Leadership Award Robert Duke (Associate Director of Medical and Dental Education)

Chairman’s Achievement Award Elaine Thorpe (Intensive Care matron)

 Latest news

 Contact details

Communications unit
2nd floor central
250 Euston Road
London NW1 2PG

Media enquiries

Switchboard: 020 3456 7890
Media enquiries: 020 3447 7542 / 020 3447 9506

Out of hours
The normal working hours for the Communications Unit are Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. The only media enquiries that will be answered outside of these working hours are urgent enquiries and those relating to major incidents. To access the out-of-hours service call switchboard on 0845 155 5000.

Share this story