UCLH team scoops bronze at PharmaTimes competition 

19/05/2017 00:00 
UCLH won an award for clinical research site of the year last night, as a clinical trials team made up of Amy Smith, Sam Morris and Krishna Patel collected the bronze medal at the Pharma Times International Clinical Researcher of the Year competition.

A second UCLH team made up of Didem Agdiran, Zoe Wood and Arti Kara were also among the four teams in the finals. All six work at the UCLH Cancer Clinical Trials Unit.

The ‘clinical research site of the year’ category recognises the impact a well-managed clinical research site can have on the UK's reputation for global research competitiveness, by delivering commercial studies to time and target in a cost-effective manner.

Ahead of being shortlisted to scoop this award the individuals in this category had to form teams, answer multiple choice questions and submit an essay. The finalists then attended a finals day where they were given a research scenario they had to present to a panel of expert judges. 

Kylie Gyertson, Head of Cancer Clinical Trials, said: “To have two finalists in this competition is a fantastic achievement and shows that the culture of research and innovation is an integral part of what we do at UCLH.

"Research is a vital part of our vision for future cancer care – it’s a great accolade for our teams, which is very well deserved.” Kylie is also a former winner of the Pharma Times awards ‘clinical researcher of the year’ category with Amy Smith and Shivali Trivedi.

The results were announced at a special awards ceremony in Trafalgar Square, and the award itself is co-sponsored by the National Institute for Health Research and the Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry.

 Latest news

 Contact details

Communications unit
2nd floor central
250 Euston Road
London NW1 2PG

Media enquiries

Switchboard: 020 3456 7890
Media enquiries: 020 3447 7542 / 020 3447 9506
Email: uclh.media@nhs.net

Out of hours
The normal working hours for the Communications Unit are Monday to Friday 9am – 5pm. The only media enquiries that will be answered outside of these working hours are urgent enquiries and those relating to major incidents. To access the out-of-hours service call switchboard on 0845 155 5000.

Share this story